Wedding Photographers Should Dress Up Too.

These are just some of my opinions and observations about what photographers wear during weddings…

One of the things I love to do at weddings and receptions is to observe and learn from the photographers and videographers when I am just an attendee. I absolutely love watching their actions and movements, the gear and leather straps they use, and the way they move around and interact with their surroundings. But, this weekend was slightly different.

I attended my aunt’s wedding in Hillsborough this past weekend and something stuck out like a sore thumb to me. The wedding photographer was wearing a baseball cap, a pair of Nike Roshe Runs, a pair of black pants, and I think a track jacket? Roshe Runs and the cap were what KILLED me. Lol. I was so surprised with how casual the fit was. It seemed like a wedding CASUALty to me (ok, I’m stretching). It wasn’t even business casual. You might as well shoot nude if you dress like this at a wedding. But, at least they weren’t shorts.

So I thought, what should wedding photographers wear exactly?

Photo peeps definitely need to feel comfortable and move around without any hitch in their step, but I think they also need to blend into their environment and respect the social norms of the event for the special couple. Obviously, photogs won’t be the ones in the picture, but we are also attending the wedding like the other folks. I haven’t read many rules about this, and I feel like the proper attire for photographers are quite loose so there is adequate room for movement and bending, but where is the line? At minimum for a wedding, I feel like business casual is the way to go with leather sneakers you can dress up if you don’t want dress shoes. Otherwise, I’d wear a pair of Adidas Ultra Boosts (shout out Adidas for some of the most comfy shoes of all time) all the time for my aching feet during those long wedding gigs.

Just my 2 cents.

If you feel differently or agree, comment below or something! 🙂

Wedding Photographers Should Dress Up Too.

Leave a Reply

